The first rule of Reggae Cover Club…

The first rule of reggae cover club…

I’m becoming a little obsessed with reggae covers. I fear it may be an addiction.
As there doesn’t seem to be an established suport network, I’ve set-up the Reggae Cover Club. Fellow sufferers feel free to send me your guilty reggae cover habits.
There are, however, a few ground rules:
Reggae covers of reggae tracks don’t count. They’re not big, they’re not clever. They’re just shit.
Cod-reggae is not welcome here. Please visit the cod-reggae cover appreciation society.  Their head office is in Norwich.
Bonus points if you include a random bit of associated trivia related to the recording of the cover – dubbed (If you’ll excuse the pun) ‘the dinner party’ bonus.
And another bonus point if the lead vocalist is of the opposite sex to the original recording artist – ‘the she-male’ bonus
Send suggestions to coveritup@aol.com.
To get the reggae rolling… My name is Mike and I’m a reggae cover-holic.  I’ve listened to ‘All shook up’ covered by Jackie Edwards three times in the last 24 hours. Elvis forgive me.
It’s a trippy, dubby cover version of the king.  The more I listen to it the sleazier it feels – in a good way.  But I’m fairly confident he recorded it whilst dancing on his bed wearing just his pants.
Jackie Edwards’ (1938-1992) main claim to fame was writing “Keep on Running” which was recorded by The Spencer Davis Group and used in the opening scene of the 1988 cinematic shit explosion that was ‘Buster’. That’s one ‘dinner party’ bonus point for me.  But to my knowledge both Jackie and Elvis had cocks so unfortunately no ‘she-male’ bonus this time.
jackie

Jackie Edwards (1938-1992)

I’m becoming a little obsessed with reggae covers. I fear it may be an addiction.

As there doesn’t seem to be an established suport network, I’ve set-up the Reggae Cover Club. Fellow sufferers feel free to send me your guilty reggae cover habits.

There are, however, a few ground rules:

  • Reggae covers of reggae tracks don’t count. They’re not big, they’re not clever. They’re just shit.
  • Cod-reggae is not welcome here. Please visit the Cod-reggae Covers Appreciation Society (CCAS).  Their head office is in Norwich.
  • Bonus points if you include a random bit of associated trivia related to the recording of the cover – dubbed (if you’ll excuse the pun) ‘the dinner party’ bonus.
  • And another bonus point if the lead vocalist is of the opposite sex to the original recording artist – ‘the she-male’ bonus

Post your suggestions by commenting below.

To get the reggae rolling… My name is Mike and I’m a reggae cover-a-holic. I’ve listened to ‘All shook up’ covered by Jackie Edwards three times in the last 24 hours. Elvis forgive me.

Jackie Edwards – All Shook Up

It’s a trippy, dubby cover version of the king.  The more I listen to it the sleazier it feels – in a good way.  But I’m fairly confident he recorded it whilst dancing on his bed wearing just his pants.

Jackie’s main claim to fame was writing “Keep on Running” which was recorded by The Spencer Davis Group and used in the opening scene of the 1988 cinematic shit explosion that was ‘Buster’. That’s one ‘dinner party’ bonus point for me.  But to my knowledge both Jackie and Elvis had cocks so unfortunately no ‘she-male’ bonus this time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

